Amazing Saving Grace

“Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me.” These words come natural to the lips of most people, because they remember the song. Sometimes though, I wonder if most people even realize the beauty of the truth that they are proclaiming. Recently, I was at the funeral of a friend of mine. As we were asked to rise and sing this song I looked around the room and saw that most of the people in attendance were following along. It was almost as though their mouths were moving, but the truth of the words wasn’t connecting. I say this because for me, every time I sing that song, I can’t help but smile. My heart cries out for joy when I hear those lyrics.

In church, the version we sing a version with a verse that goes like this;

My chains are gone, I’ve been set free,

My God, my savior, has ransomed me,

and like a flood, His mercy rains,

unending love, Amazing Grace.”

The unending, undying, unmatched love of God drove Him to voluntarily submit to death, unmerited by us, but undoubtedly for us. His death was not just any death, it was a Roman crucifixion. He endured torture, then hours of a slow and painful death. He did this with you and me on His mind. He did this for us, while we were still sinners. We did nothing to deserve His grace, His mercy. If you think that you can say when you die, “Oh, I wasn’t a bad person”, then I challenge you to compare your life to the perfect law of God, and see your deficiency. His standards are too high, He is the only one that can fulfill them. Yet, it is us that needs it. But we can’t fulfill it. What is a man to do? Believe. That is what we’re to do, believe. Then thank Him when you do believe, because even that faith is a gift.


One thought on “Amazing Saving Grace

Leave a Reply

